LMS-BSHM Hirst Prize

Originally launched in 2015 as part of the 150th anniversary celebrations of the London Mathematical Society (LMS), the Hirst Prize and Lectureship is now jointly awarded by the 新澳开奖and the (BSHM). The prize is named after Thomas Archer Hirst, who was the fifth President of the 新澳开奖(1872鈥1874).

The Hirst Prize and Lectureship is intended to recognise contributions to the study of the history of mathematics. The prize shall be awarded in recognition of original and innovative work in the history of mathematics, which may be in any medium.

Prize regulations

Download the full prize regulations here.

Nominating a Candidate for the Hirst Prize and Lectureship

The Hirst Prize and Lectureship is awarded every two years, in odd-numbered years. Nominations will open in the autumn of the year preceding the award and details will be posted to the 新澳开奖homepage.


The prize is open to any mathematician or historian of mathematics. In a given year, the members of the Hirst Prize Committee, and the members of the 新澳开奖and BSHM Councils, shall be ineligible for the award of the prize. There is no requirement for the winner to be based in the UK.聽

Previous winners

2023: E. Scholz
2021: K. Chemla
2018: J. Gray
2015: E. F. Robertson and J. J. O'Connor (joint)

Hirst Lecture

The Hirst Lecture is held in the year after the award, usually in spring. Download guidelines to the Hirst Lecture here.